Mars becomes the brightest “star” tonight, provided the weather supports it

Jakarta, CNN Indonesia

Mars planet it will be the brightest in the sky when the position is opposite to full moon ie the opposition, Thursday (8/11) tonight.

Opposition means that the Sun, Earth and Mars are in a straight line, with Mars on the opposite side of the Sun.

With this configuration, Mars will be closer to Earth. Indeed, the Red Planet will appear brighter than usual.

National Research and Innovation Agency (BRIN) Aeronautical and Space Research Organization Space Research Center researcher Andi Prince revealed that this phenomenon occurs on average once every 25.6 months (2 ,13 years).

This phenomenon last occurred on August 23, 2020 and July 27, 2018.

“This year’s Mars opposition will take place on December 8 at 12.35 WIB/13.35 WITA/14.35 WIB,” Andi said as quoted by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration’s official website.EIGHT)Monday (5/12).

According to him, the Mars opposition phenomenon can be seen in Indonesia from the northeast around sunset time. Mars culminates in the north with an altitude between 54.3 degrees at Rote Ndao and 70.9 degrees at Sabang City.

Right now, Mars’ distance from Earth reaches 82.2 million kilometers, with a brightness level of -1.87 or 1.5 times brighter than usual.

The appearance of Mars ends on Friday (9/12) morning in the northwest at sunrise.

quoted Spacefor people who want to see but are constrained by time, they can virtually see the location of mars on the site below.

This time the Mars opposition also coincides with the December full moon phenomenon, which peaks on December 8 at 11.08 WIB/12.08 WITA/13.08 WIT.

It also marks the culmination of the retrograde of this closest planet to Earth. Mars retrograde started on October 30, 2022 and ended on January 13, 2023.

Andi said this phenomenon can be witnessed without the use of optical aids as long as the weather is clear, the field of view is unobstructed, and the observing site is free from light pollution.

If the conditions don’t allow it, especially due to the rain that has hit various cities in Indonesia in recent weeks, watch the virtual video here that might be an option.

Mars opposition will occur again on January 16, 2025 and February 19, 2027. In general, there will be no impact on the inhabitants of the Earth when this phenomenon occurs.

(can/arh)



[Gambas:Video CNN]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick