At Rs.1000 per run; Azharuddin announces cash award for memorable performance

Kerala cricketer Azharuddin / File photo

Thiruvananthapuram: The Kerala Cricket Association (KCA) has announced the award for opener Mohammad Azharuddin, who scored a quick century against Mumbai in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Twenty20 tournament. Azharuddin will be paid Rs 100 for each run scored. Accordingly, a cash award of Rs 1.37 lakh (Rs 1,37,000) has been announced.

Azharuddin, who hit a half-century off 20 balls against a strong Mumbai side, hit 100 off 37 balls. Kasargod opener Mohammad Azharuddin was unbeaten on 137 off 54 balls with nine fours and 11 sixes.

This is the first time a Kerala player has scored a century in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Azharuddin’s 137 is also the second highest individual score in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Puneet Bisht, who scored 149 not out for Meghalaya against Manipur this season, holds the record.

Azharuddin, who hit a 37-ball century, became the third fastest Indian to score a Twenty20 century. Rishabh, who scored a 32-ball century against Himachal Pradesh in the 2018 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, holds the record for the fastest century. In second place is Rohit Sharma. In 2017, Rohit completed his 35-ball century against Sri Lanka.


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.