Home » today » Sport » Round I is over, Fabinho brings Liverpool ahead of Brentford

Round I is over, Fabinho brings Liverpool ahead of Brentford


Liverpool close the first half of the contra duel Brentford with a score of 1-0. The goalscorer is Fabinho.

Liverpool have only made two changes from their last match against Arsenal in the English League Cup semifinals. Curtis Jones and Alex-Oxlade Chamberlain replaced James Milner and Takumi Minamino.

Despite dominating the game from the early minutes, Liverpool looked difficult to create dangerous chances in the Brentford defense. Without Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah, Liverpool’s attack line looks dull.

Liverpool’s first chance came in the 13th minute when Chamberlain met Fabinho’s cross from the left with his head, but it was saved by Alvaro Fernandez. It’s a shame it doesn’t count as a shot on target because it was caught offside.

A minute later it was Trent Alexander-Arnold’s turn to try his luck with a long-range shot into the top right corner of the goal, but it was wide.

In the 22nd minute, Liverpool’s first on goal opportunity was obtained by Virgil van Dijk who received Trent’s corner. The ball was controlled for a moment, before being shot by Van Dijk into the net but Fernandez was able to block it.

Jota and Firmino were not able to create many chances in the remainder of this first half. Assistance from the wing, both Trent and Andrew Robertson are also less qualified.

Brentford occasionally tried to maximize mistakes from Liverpool players, such as in the 39th minute when the ball was grabbed by Ivan Toney in the middle of the field. Toney shot from distance and went wide.

The deadlock was finally broken in the 44th minute when Fabinho headed Trent’s corner at the far post. Even though he was escorted by opposing players, Fabinho was still able to put it into the corner of the goal.

Score 1-0 closed the first half Liverpool vs Brentford.


Liverpool: Alisson; Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joel Matip, Virgil Van Dijk, Andrew Robertson; Jordan Henderson, Fabinho, Curtis Jones; Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Diogo Jota, Roberto Firmino

Brentford: Alvaro Fernandez; Kristoffer Ajer, Pontus Jansson, Ethan Pinnock; Mads Roerslev, Vitaly Janelt, Christian Norgaard, Shandon Baptiste, Rico Henry; Bryan Mbeumo, Ivan Toney.


– .

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.