Omicron strain – Ukraine closes border for African citizens

“In order to prevent the spread of a new strain of coronavirus in Ukraine, today we will adopt a resolution that will prohibit the crossing of the Ukrainian border by foreign citizens from countries where the spread of the new strain is recorded. These are South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Nabimia and a number of other African countries.” , – noted the Prime Minister Denis Shmygal.

At the same time, for Ukrainians who return from these countries, mandatory self-isolation will be established for 14 days.

The new rules take effect from 00:00 on December 3.

The complete “red list” of countries is as follows:

  • South Africa
  • Botswana
  • Zimbabwe
  • Namibia
  • Lesotho
  • Kingdom of Eswatini
  • Mozambique
  • Malawi


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.