Hamilton will start second behind the Schumacher record

Bryn Lennon, Reuters

Max Verstappen from the Red Bull stable and Charles Leclerc from Ferrari will start from the second row. Ferrari co-driver Sebastian Vettel did not fit into the last part of the qualification for the ten fastest for the seventh time. The German rider took eleventh place.

Thanks to Bottas, the master Mercedes will start from the first place in the eleventh race of the season, before which the pilots lost both Friday’s training sessions due to bad weather. The circuit where Formula 1 returned after seven years was not tested until today’s third practice.

Verstappen did not hold pole position

Bottas finished 1: 25,269 for the third pole position of the year and after a two-week-old triumph from Sochi, he will strive for the second victory in a row and the third in the season. The six-time world champion Hamilton, who leads the championship standings by 44 points just ahead of Bottas, was 256 thousandths behind in second place.

Max Verstappen had to settle for third place, even though he led for a long time in the final part of the qualification. In the last lap, however, both Mercedes got ahead of him and the Red Bull driver eventually lost 293 thousandths of a second on the fastest Bottas.

Nico Hülkenberg will start from the last place, replacing the sick Lance Stroll just a moment before the qualification in the Racing Point team. The oldest pilot in the starting field and the world champion from 2007 Kimi Räikkönen was even better, who equaled the record of Rubens Barrichello in the number of races in Sochi and on Sunday he can become independent with the 323rd start.

Sunday’s Eifel Grand Prix, named after a highland in western Germany, starts at 2:10 p.m.

Qualification for the Eifel GP at the Nürburgring
1. Bottas (Fin./Mercedes) 1:25,269
2. Hamilton (Brit./Mercedes) -0,256
3. Verstappen (Niz./Red Bull) -0,293
4. Leclerc (Mon./Ferrari) -0,766
5. Albon (Thaj./Red Bull) -0,778
6. Ricciardo (Austr./Renault) -0,954
7. Ocon (Fr./Renault) -0,973
8. Norris (Brit./McLaren) -1,189
9. Pérez (Mex./Racing Point) -1,435
10. Sainz (Sp. / McLaren) -1,440


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.