WhatsApp allows you to delete messages without reading them. In this tip, we show you exactly how to do it.
Thankfully, deleting WhatsApp messages is easy and only requires a few clicks. If you don’t want the recipient to know that you opened their messages before deleting them, here are a few tricks on how to do that. Our screenshots are taken with the Android version, but the steps work on iPhones too.
The read receipt ensures that your chat partners see blue ticks when you read their messages. If you disable read receipts (temporarily), you can delete the message without the chat partner seeing that you have read it.
In WhatsApp you can delete entire chats without opening them. You can also delete messages that you don’t want to open at the same time. Of course, the rest of the messages also disappear with this method.
Read receipts are only transmitted in WhatsApp if there is also a connection to the Internet. Therefore, you can simply put your smartphone in flight mode to block all connections and easily delete unread messages.