Comparing Shin Tae-yong with Other Indonesian National Team Coaches


Trainer Indonesian National team, Shin Tae-yong, still does not meet the expectations of the Indonesian football public. So, how does it compare to other coaches?

Shin Tae-yong failed to realize the gold medal target for the U-23 Indonesian National Team at the 2021 Vietnam SEA Games. Garuda Muda only won a bronze medal at the biennial multievent.

Indonesia was defeated by Thailand 0-1 in the semifinals of soccer. And only able to win on penalties against Malaysia 4-3 (1-1) during the bronze match.

The achievement of the national team in the biennial multievent has even declined. Because in the previous edition, namely at the 2019 Philippine SEA Games, Garuda Muda was able to secure a silver medal.

Whereas PSSI has provided classy facilities for the preparation of the SEA Games by sending the U-23 National Team to conduct a training camp (TC) to South Korea on April 15-27. Where the TC became history, because for the first time PSSI was trying to prepare for the SEA Games according to Shin Tae-yong’s wishes.

The failure of the national team at the SEA Games was also the second for Shin Tae-yong. Previously, the South Korean coach also failed to bring Indonesia to win the 2020 AFF Cup.

Indonesia only became runner-up in the 2020 AFF Cup after being defeated by Thailand. The defeat that made the TC National Team held in Turkey in November-December 2021 also seemed in vain.

If you look at Shin Tae-yong’s achievements, which have not been maximized, even with great support from PSSI, the public has begun to compare the coach, who is paid Rp. 1.1 billion per month, with the previous national team coach.

What’s more, implementing TC costs up to tens of billions. Meanwhile, the achievements achieved are still far from expectations.

From the available data, the following is a comparison of Shin Tae-yong’s achievements with the previous Indonesian national team coach:

1. Ernest Alberth Mangindaan

– 1968 Thailand Kings Cup Champion
– Champion of the Merdeka Pestabola Cup in Malaysia 1969
– 1966 and 1970 Asian Games quarter-finals

2. Bertie Matulapelwa

– 1987 SEA Games gold medal
– 1987 Independence Cup Champion
– Semifinal Asian Games 1986

3. Anatoli Polosin

– 1991 SEA Games gold medal (last gold medal so far for the Indonesian national team at the SEA Games)
– 1988 Independence Cup runner-up
– The third stage of the 1990 Independence Cup

4. Nandar Iskandar

– 2000 Independence Cup Champion

5. Luis Milla

– Guardian Sea Games 2017
– Round of 16 Asian Games 2018

6. Indra Sjafri

– 2013 AFF U-19 Cup Champion
– Champion of AFF U-22 Cup 2019
– Champion of HKFA International Youth Football Invitation Tournament 2012 with Indonesian U-17 National Team
– Champion of HKFA International Youth Invitational Tournament 2013 with U-19 National Team
– 2019 Philippines SEA Games silver medal

7. Shin Tae-yong

– Runner-up Piala AFF 2020
– SEA Games Vietnam 2021 bronze medal

Watch Videos “Shin Tae-yong helps Indonesian players to be recruited by Korean clubs
[Gambas:Video 20detik]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.