Announcing the names of the three winners of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics

announced Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences For the award of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics to Alan Aspect, John F. Clauser and Anton Zeilinger, the prestigious prize is 10 million Swedish crowns (1.14 million dollars).

Members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said at the press conference that they have received the Nobel Prize in Physics 2022, for their research in experiments with entangled photons, which demonstrates the violation of inequality and Bell’s leadership in the science of ‘ quantum information.

This year’s Nobel laureate John Clauser has built a device that simultaneously emits two entangled photons, each to a filter that verifies their polarization. The result was a clear violation of Bell’s inequality and agreed with the predictions of quantum mechanics.

Alain Aspect, Nobel laureate in physics, has developed a configuration to fill an important gap. He was able to change the measurement settings after the tangled pair left their source, so the setting that was present when they were emitted could not affect the result.

Interestingly, Siukuru Manabe, Klaus Haselmann and Giorgio Baresi received this award last year for their “pioneering contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”.

“Complex physical systems are chaotic and difficult to understand. This year’s award rewards new methods for describing them and predicting their long-term behavior,” the Nobel Prize-winning body said in its statement.

Japanese meteorologist and climatologist Seokuro Manabe, 90, and climate modeler Klaus Haselmann, 89, shared half of the award for “physical modeling of the Earth’s climate, quantifying variance and reliable forecasting of global warming”. The Italian physicist Giorgio Baresi, 73, “for his discovery of the interaction of turbulence and fluctuations in physical systems from the atomic scale to the planetary scale”.

Read more:  China, Russia, diplomacy: offensive German Greens

The Nobel Prize in Physics is the second prize awarded this week, after Americans David Julius and Erdem Patbutian won the Medicine Prize Monday for discovering receptors in the skin that detect temperature and touch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick