US House of Representatives Committee approves Navalny list sanctions

The US House of Representatives’ rules of procedure committee has approved a bill to impose sanctions on 35 people accused by fellow Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny of human rights abuses and corruption, Congressman Paul Masaro said on Twitter.

If the bill submitted by the representatives of both parties is approved by Congress, the proposed list of sanctions will have to be evaluated by the administration of US President Joe Biden.

The White House will have half a year to go through this process.

The list of sanctions includes businessmen Roman Abramovich, Alisher Usmanov, Oleg Deripaska, Igor Sechin, head of Rosneft, Alexei Miller, head of Gazprom, Alexander Bastrikin, chairman of the Committee of Inquiry, Alexander Bortnikov, director of the Federal Security Service, RT editor-in-chief Margarita Simonjana, chairman of the state corporation VEB.RF Igor Shuvalov, chairman of the board of VBT bank Andrei Kostin, director of the Russian Guard Viktor Zolotov and other high-ranking officials and businessmen, as well as people close to Russian President Vladimir Putin.

The bill on the imposition of sanctions under the Global Magnitsky Act was submitted to the House of Representatives by Democratic Congressman Tom Malinovsky and Republican John Curtis.

Technically, these are adjustments to the US defense budget. This mechanism was previously used to impose sanctions on companies involved in the construction of the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline.

The list is based on the recommendations of the Navalny team.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.