Home » News » Drafting Officials’ Confusing Reviews in Lions-Buccaneers Game

Drafting Officials’ Confusing Reviews in Lions-Buccaneers Game

by David Harrison – Chief Editor

Detroit Lions‘ Two Challenged Plays Spark Confusion, Reveal Rule Nuance & Coach’s Admission of Error

DETROIT – Two challenges initiated by Detroit Lions head coach Dan Campbell during their recent game against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers raised eyebrows and highlighted a specific NFL rule regarding successful challenges. Despite neither challenge resulting in the ⁢overturning of the original call on the field,both were​ officially deemed “successful” by the league.

The first ⁤challenge⁣ centered on the spot of the ball following a Buccaneers’ run. While the initial ruling stood, NFL Rule 15, Section 6, Article 1 defines a ‍challenge as successful “if any reviewable aspect⁤ of the⁣ play is changed.” This means even if the original call isn’t ‌overturned,a review altering something about the play counts as a successful challenge.

The second challenge proved more perplexing. The Lions challenged a strip-sack of buccaneers quarterback Baker Mayfield, claiming the runner was down by contact short ⁢of the line ⁤to gain. However, the​ recovery by Buccaneers offensive tackle Tristan Wirfs occurred five yards short of the line to gain, with the play initially ruled as third-and-5 for ⁤Tampa Bay.

Campbell later admitted the challenge stemmed from a misjudgment. He explained he hoped a review would reveal Mayfield was down before the fumble, thereby negating the 2-yard gain from the fumble recovery and applying the full yardage loss from the sack. However, the‍ ball was demonstrably out before Mayfield ‌hit the ground.

“That was just a bad challenge. That was a total mess-up on ⁢my part,” ⁣Campbell stated. “that was me‌ thinking that he was down at the ​fumble site, and that’s more grasping for straws. I shouldn’t have done that.(if) you were totally like, ‘What⁣ the hell⁤ was he doing?’ You’d be correct.”

Speculation arose that Campbell may have been attempting ​to provide his defense with a break during a lengthy 18-play Buccaneers drive,but the ‍coach did ⁣not confirm this.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.