WhatsApp will allow its users leave groups without notifying other members and control who can see when they’re online, as part of a privacy update to the messaging app this month, the company announced Tuesday.
“We will continue to create new ways to protect your messages and keep them so private and safe like face-to-face conversations,” Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Meta, the company that owns WhatsApp, said in a statement today.
Taking screenshots of temporary messages will also be prevented
When a user leaves a group, a notification now appears at the bottom of the conversation letting other members know who has left. And, although users already can disable a function which tells others if they have read a message, the fact that a user was online and using WhatsApp could not be hidden.
The more than 2,000 million users of WhatsApp will also have the possibility of stop people from taking screenshots from “meant to be seen only once” messages, which are designed to disappear after being opened.
The screenshot blocking tool is currently being tested, WhatsApp said, and will be released to users soon. Ami Voraproduct manager for WhatsApp, noted that the platform focused on creating features that allow people “Have more control and privacy over your messages.”