WhatsApp: now you can hide the “online” and leave groups without warning

The platform has new options to protect the privacy of users.

Foto: Pexels

The company has spent months developing new features focused on having greater control over conversations in different beta versions of the instant messaging platform.

In July, it was verified in a screenshot of WhatsApp beta for iOS that in a future update it would be possible to limit who could see the connection status, within the last seen configuration section.

Now, the CEO of Meta, owner of WhatsApp, Mark Zuckerberg, has confirmed through his personal profile on Facebook the official implementation of these functions, which will soon be available to all users.

Also read: Musk accuses Twitter of fraud in the purchase agreement

“We will continue to create new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and confidential as face-to-face conversations,” the executive director pointed out in this publication, where he mentioned the new features of WhatsApp.

The first of these options, which allows you to silently leave the groups without notifying the rest of the members of said chat, will begin to be extended to all users “this month”, as the company has pointed out in a statement sent to Europa Press.

Also in this period the users of the messaging application will have the opportunity to choose who can see when they are ‘online’. To keep your online presence private, Meta has introduced the ability to select who can and cannot see when you’re online and using the app.

Also read: This is how Twitter will notify if an inserted trill has been modified

Finally, Meta has unveiled a new feature for messages set to view only once. Specifically, the application will block the capture of this type of message to add an additional layer of protection.

The company has acknowledged that, at the moment, this privacy tool is in the testing phase and that it is expected to be launched soon, without advancing a specific implementation date.

Likewise, he recalled that these features join the platform’s list of privacy options, among which end-to-end encryption, block or complaint, encrypted backups or two-step verification stand out.

👽👽👽 Are you already aware of the latest news from technology? We invite you to visit our section in El Espectador.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.