Shielding the ‘last seen‘ status has been possible on WhatsApp for some time, but that will soon also be possible with the ‘now online’ status that is listed with the name of users. The new privacy setting allows users to protect their online presence from everyone.
The new setting was recently leakedbut today reported Mark Zuckerberg, the CEO of WhatsApp parent company Meta, that the global rollout is coming soon. According to WABetainfowhich closely follows the test versions of WhatsApp, the rollout will take place later this month.
WhatsApp users will soon also be able to choose to show their online status only to their contacts or only to their contacts except for certain people who can specifically set them up. Users who protect their online status can no longer see that of others. That principle also applies to other privacy options on WhatsApp. For example, the familiar blue check marks are not visible to others if a user does not share them himself.
No more notification when leaving group
WhatsApp is also going to make some other privacy-related changes. For example, the standard notifications disappear when users leave WhatsApp groups. When someone leaves a group chat, it will no longer be reported to all members of the group except the group admins.
Messages to delete longer
Also made WhatsApp familiar that from now on users will have 2.5 days to delete a message for the recipient after sending. They were given more than an hour to do so.
Furthermore, WhatsApp will block screenshots with photos and videos that users have set that they can only be viewed once. That function for ‘one-time displaythe chat app added last year.