UEFA election without Bundesliga professional

Champions League winner Thomas Tuchel can hope for the award of the best coach on the continent after his great year with Chelsea. The 47-year-old had strong competition in the election of the European Football Union UEFA: Together with Tuchel, the Italian European champion Roberto Mancini (56) and start coach Pep Guardiola (50) from the English champions Manchester City are among the top three Europe’s Footballer of the Year, on the other hand, will take place next Thursday in Istanbul without German or Bundesliga participation.

Lewandowski is out

After FC Bayern cleared away last year with goalscorer Robert Lewandowski and then coach Hansi Flick, this year either European champion Jorginho, French N’Golo Kanté, both of whom play for Tuchel in London, or Belgian Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) excellent. World footballer Lewandowski made it to fifth place in the selection of coaches and journalists with 140 points as the best Bundesliga professional, Borussia Dortmund’s Erling Haaland in tenth place with 15 points.

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain), Lieke Martens (Netherlands) and Alexia Putellas (Spain) received the most votes among women soccer players. The trio play together at FC Barcelona, ​​which won the women’s premier class in May. German national players or soccer players from the Bundesliga did not make it into the top ten.

Further awards

As the best coach of a women’s team, either Lluís Cortés, who left FC Barcelona in the summer, the Swedish national coach Peter Gerhardsson or Emma Hayes (Chelsea) will be honored. Bayern coach Jens Scheuer finished fifth.

The awards for the best players in the Champions League in the respective parts of the team will also be announced in Istanbul next week. National players Antonio Rüdiger, Haaland and Lewandowski are shortlisted for the men.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.