Tournament of Champions 2022: schedule and preliminary results

Like last year, world-famous tennis players will present themselves on the fields of the Pala Alpitour hall, which can accommodate up to 16,426 spectators. The Italians will then host the tournament with the English name ATP Finals three more times, hosting it until 2025.

As part of last year’s 52nd edition, the German tennis player Alexander Zverev rejoiced for the triumph in the men’s singles, beating the Russian Daniil Medvedev twice in the final 6: 4. The former champion is currently not among the currently qualified, due to a new injury.

Czech participation and player nominations

Of the top eight singles players, five players currently have some participation. They are the Spaniards Rafael Nadal and Carlos Alcaraz, the Norwegian Casper Ruud, the Greek tennis player Stefanos Tsitsipas and the Serbian tennis star Novak Djokovic. The remaining places will then be decided by the rankings by 7 November at the latest.

Last year’s finalist Daniil Medvedev, his compatriot Andrey Rublev and Canadian Félix Auger-Aliassime are among the biggest contenders who could play in the Tournament of Champions.

Players nominated for the 2022 ATP Finals
# Single female Double female
1 Carlos Alcaraz (Spain) Koolhof / Skupski (Niz./V. Brit.)
2 Rafael Nadal (Spain) Ram / Salisbury (US / UK)
3 Casper Ruud (Nor.) Arevalo / Rojer (Sal./Cur.)
4 Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece) Mektic / Pavic (Chor.)
5 Novak Djokovic (Serbian)
The list of nominated players is constantly updated.

Also this year there will not be a Czech representative in the men’s singles or doubles. The last time was in 2015, when Tomáš Berdych finished in 3rd place in the group. However, the hope for the future could be Jiří Lehečka’s participation in the Under 21 Tournament of Champions. Lehečka qualified as the first Czech in the history of the tournament.

Tournament of Champions calendar and results

The game system is the same as in the Tournament of Champions. Eight players, or eight pairs, are divided into two groups. After playing head-to-head in the group, the top two will advance to the single elimination stage of the tournament.

Tournament playing days are usually divided into two blocks, in each of them a singles match and a doubles match. The highlight of the tournament is therefore scheduled for Sunday 20 November.

After the publication of the participants, the groups and the schedule of the individual matches will be inserted.

Cash prize

Unlike WTA Finals, the organizers of the men’s all-star tournament have already published the reward which will be shared by all players. That’s an astronomical $ 14.75 million, with the single winner up to $ 4.74 million.

Rewards and financial points in 2022
Phase (victory) Single Double Body
Base group (1st game) $ 160,000 $ 52,000
Base group (2nd game) $ 240,000 $ 97 500
Base group (3rd game) $ 320,000 $ 130,000
Semi final $ 383 300 $ 93 300 200
The end $ 1,070,000 $ 170,000 400
Undefeated winners $ 4 740 300 $ 930 300 1500


If you decide to visit the tennis festival directly in Turin, prepare a minimum amount of 60 Euros to pay for the ticket for two matches that take place in one day. If you want to see the semi-final or the final, the ticket price is double. Tickets can be purchased on the official website of the ATP Finals.

TV or online broadcast of the tournament

The traditional mediator of men’s tennis tournaments is the Eurosport station, which also plans to broadcast this tennis highlight. Furthermore, the broadcast is also available on some bookmaker portals, which usually require the payment of a registration fee or a minimum stake to watch.

Champions Tournament Winners – Djokovic can catch up with Federer

The first edition of the Tournament of Champions took place in 1970 in Japan. The American Stan Smith then won on the fields of Tokyo and, together with Arthur Ash, also managed to dominate the double. The record holder of the ATP Finals became Roger Federer, who managed to win a total of six times. Novak Djokovic can try to match Federer’s record again this year.

Winners of the Tournament of Champions since 2000
2000 Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil) 2011 Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2001 Lleyton Hewitt (Australian) 2012 Novak Djokovic (Serbian)
2002 Lleyton Hewitt (Australian) 2013 Novak Djokovic (Serbian)
2003 Roger Federer (Switzerland) 2014 Novak Djokovic (Serbian)
2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland) 2015 Novak Djokovic (Serbian)
2005 David Nalbandian (Arg.) 2016 Andy Murray (British)
2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland) 2017 Grigor Dimitrov (Bel.)
2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland) 2018 Alexander Zverev (Germany)
2008 Novak Djokovic (Serbian) 2019 Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece)
2009 Nikolay Davydenko (Russian) 2020 Daniel Medvedev (Russia)
2010 Roger Federer (Switzerland) 2021 Alexander Zverev (Germany)

Pete Sampras and Ivan Lendl have also historically claimed the same number of titles as Djokovic. Since 1980, Lendl has been in the final nine times in a row, in one case Björn Borg (1980) and Boris Becker (1988) were beyond his strength, twice the Ostrava native was not enough for John McEnroe (1983 and ‘ 84).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.