These are the 8 names of the planets in the solar system, no Pluto!

TIME.CO, JakartaSolar system is a group of celestial objects consisting of a star, planet and objects bound by its gravitational force. However, for Pluto which has long been included in the solar system is now no longer included in the planetary category.

Currently only eight planets revolve around the sun, one of which is the Earth. What are the planets of the solar system?

Pluto is no longer a planet

Pluto is a freezing world, billions of kilometers from Earth and 30 times lighter than the planet Mercury. Pluto was discovered in 1930.

Quoted from the page International Astronomical Union (IAU), explained that the view of the landscape of the Solar System began to change from August 30, 1992 with the discovery of an object classified as a Trans-Neptunian Object (TNO).

Read also: Jupiter is closest to Earth in 59 years

As the discovery of trans-Neptunian objects (TNOs) increases, an object that rivals Pluto in size will one day be found. Further observations revealed that there are objects larger than Pluto and that they also have a satellite and continue to grow. So a question arises from many astronomers, what is a planet.

Names of the planets in the solar system

From the results of the IAU resolution of August 24, 2006, defines a planet, i.e. a space object that orbits the Sun and has a mass large enough so that the object’s gravitational force can reshape its shape into a nearly spherical shape . In an IAU resolution, the number of solar systems was formalized as eight, consisting of Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

But in 2016, researchers discovered a planet that is either Planet Nine or Planet X and is said to have ten times the mass of Earth and five thousand times the mass of Pluto. The following are the 8 planets of the Solar System that have been designated by the IAU:

1. Mercury

Mercury is the smallest and hottest planet in the Solar System. This planet, which has an average distance from the sun of 58 km and a diameter of 4,850 km, has a very high temperature, so Mercury takes 88 days to rotate for a year. Due to its proximity to the sun, the metal would dissolve into vapor at that planet’s temperatures. This planet is also devoid of life, as it has no satellite, atmosphere, clouds, rain, wind, or water of its own.

2. Venus

Venus is the second closest planet to the sun, almost the same size as the Earth. However, there is no life on this planet because it contains carbon dioxide, so it’s impossible to breathe there. On this planet the sun is never visible from the surface of Venus which is about 108,208,930 km away. There is a difference in light between day and night on Venus. One day on Venus equals 243 days on Earth, and Venus has clouds formed from deadly sulfuric acid.

3. Earth

Land it is the third planet in the solar system that hosts life. The planet we live on takes 365 days 5 hours 48 minutes 47 seconds to go around the sun once. Earth is the only planet in the Solar System inhabited by living beings ranging from humans, plants and animals. With the right temperature, the occupants are neither too hot nor too cold. The Earth also has an atmosphere that gives you air to breathe and protects against meteor impacts.

Mars is the fourth red planet due to…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick