Russia is embarking on a procedure to secede from part of Ukraine

Leonid Kalashnikov PHOTO:

Russia’s State Duma is launching a procedure to secede from Ukraine. The Parliamentary Committee on the CIS, Eurasian Integration and Relations with Compatriots agreed to discuss such a proposal in early February. It was submitted by the parliamentary group of the Communist Party of Russia in the form of a draft address of the Duma to Russian President Vladimir Putin for recognition as independent states of the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk People’s Republics (DPR and LPR). The announcement was made today by the chairman of the commission Leonid Kalashnikov (from the Communist Party), quoted by TASS and “Sega”.

“The commission has asked all factions to give their views on this issue so that we can further adopt the commission’s conclusion. We will then discuss the document and submit it to the Duma Council. This will happen in early February.” said Kalashnikov.

The initiative was supported by International Affairs Committee Chairman Leonid Slutsky, a member of the Liberal Democratic Party of nationalist Vladimir Zhirinovsky. But he said “such an overriding topic should not be forced in any way”, but should be discussed carefully with the participation of experts.

The deputies from the Communist Party, led by their leader Gennady Zyuganov, submitted their draft address to the Duma on January 19. According to him, the State Duma asks the head of state to consider the issue of recognizing the proclaimed republics “as independent, sovereign and independent states.” The text says that the deputies consider “the recognition of DNR and LNR to be justified and morally justified”.

The model for recognizing independent states in breakaway territories in former Soviet republics was applied by Moscow to Georgia’s South Ossetia and Abkhazia after the brief Russian-Georgian conflict in 2008. DNR and LNR declared themselves independent in 2014 immediately after Crimea’s annexation by Crimea. Russia. Currently, the DNR and LNR are recognized only by South Ossetia, which enjoys the recognition not only of Russia but also of Nicaragua, Venezuela and Nauru.

The DPR and LPR, located in eastern Ukraine and bordering Russia, present themselves as a confederation called the Union of People’s Republics – Novorussia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.