Ogier is the eighth world rally champion, confirming the title with the championship in Monza


Thirty-seven-year-old Ogier approached Sébastien Loeb for the only title, who triumphed nine times in the World Cup. However, he will probably not catch up with the famous compatriot, as he has already announced in advance that he will end this year with regular participation in the championship.

After eleven World Championships, Ogier led by 17 points and in Monza he would have enough third place to defend the title in the area and around the famous motoring circuit. Evans won the opening stage by 1.4 seconds, after Saturday he was already close by Ogier. In the end, he decided the battle for the championship in the penultimate special stage, in which he increased the lead to seven seconds.

At the finish, Ogier and his co-driver Julien Ingrassia celebrated on the roof of their yaris with golden helmets. “I don’t even know if we won the rally … Then it was all in emotions, I didn’t even notice what they were saying on the radio. It’s beautiful and this guy (Ingrassia) is a real legend,” Ogier said. The Spaniard Dani Sordo finished third in Monza with a Hyundai, and the Belgian Thierry Neuville finished third in the World Cup.

Last year, Evans was in a much better starting position before the final race at Monza, leading by 14 points. However, it crashed in Italy, Ogier won the rally and was able to celebrate another success in a rich career. This year, Evans managed to significantly reduce Ogier’s lead at the end of the season after winning in Finland and being second in Catalonia. However, the Frenchman took care of the lead, at the end of the season he also added the 54th victory.

Since 2013, Ogier has triumphed four times with the Volkswagen, twice with the Ford and now for the second time with the Toyota, which also dominated the team category. Only Estonian Ott Tänak, who reigned the championship the year before, was able to interrupt the French driver’s championship series.

Rallye Monza, the final event of the World Car Championship:
1. Ogier, Ingrassia (Fr./Toyota Yaris) 2: 39: 08.6
2. Evans, Martin (Brit./Toyota Yaris) -7,3
3. Sordo, Carrera (Šp./Hyundai i20) -21,3
4. Neuville, Wydaeghe (Belg./Hyundai i20) -32.0
5. O. Solberg, Edmonson (Sweden, Brit./Hyundai i20) -1: 32.0
6. Suninen, Markkula (Fin./Hyundai i20) -2: 22.6.
Final standings of the World Cup (after 12 races):
1. Ogier 230 b.
2. Evans 207
3. Neuville 176
4. Rovanperä (Fin./Toyota) 142
5. Today (Est./Hyundai) 128
6. Sordo 81.
Team ranking: 1. Toyota 522, 2. Hyundai 462, 3. M-Sport Ford 200, 4. Hyundai 2C 68.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.