New restrictions affect 10 municipalities and all are in Madrid

The Government has established a common criterion to reinforce the new restrictions in the fight against the coronavirus throughout the territory of Spain but, in practice, only one community meets the agreed requirements: Madrid.

Health limit mobility in cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants if three values ​​are exceeded: contagions, ICU occupation and tests.

What municipalities will have restrictions?

The Government will publish this Wednesday the list of municipalities with more than 100,000 inhabitants that their mobility and the capacity of bars and restaurants will be limited.

In Spain there are 63 municipalities with more than 100,000 inhabitants, But there are only ten municipalities that meet all the requirements detailed by Health and all ten are in Madrid: they are the city of Madrid, as well as Alcalá de Henares, Alcobendas, Alcorcón, Fuenlabrada, Getafe, Leganés, Móstoles, Parla and Torrejón de Ardoz. All these municipalities, therefore, should be subject to the restrictions that the Executive will detail.

No other municipality of any other autonomy It should be affected by the new restrictions to stop the pandemic because in order for its mobility to be restricted, the Government takes an autonomous parameter – that the ucis are occupied above 35% – and only Madrid meets that requirement. So the others 53 large municipalities are, for the moment, excluded of those restrictions.

The Minister of Health, Salvador Illa, has announced that this Wednesday will propose a coordinated public health action to the Interterritorial Council of the National Health System (CISNS) that mobility is limited in all municipalities with more than 100,000 inhabitants where there are more than 500 covid cases in the last 14 days, PCR positivity is greater than 10 percent and the occupancy rate of the Intensive Care Units is greater than 35 percent.

In addition to mobility, social contacts will be limited and measures will be taken to reduce hours and capacity and to reinforce their healthcare capacities, reports Europa Press.

Illa has spoken like this, this Tuesday, at a press conference after a meeting with the Minister of Health of the Community of Madrid, Enrique Ruiz Escudero, within the framework of the Covid-19 Group. This is the second meeting held this week, after the disagreements that both administrations have had due to the criteria to apply to stop the transmission of the coronavirus in the region.

The agreement reached with Madrid will be analyzed in the morning in the technical presentation and in the Public Health Commission and, later and in the afternoon, it will be discussed in the plenary session of the CISNS, in which they participate the Health Councilors of all the autonomous communities. In this sense, Illa has reported that it hopes that these measures will enter into force as soon as possible.

Likewise, the Minister of Health recalled that the situation of the pandemic in the Community of Madrid is “very worrying” and requires acting with “great determination”, since it stands at 780 cases of covid-19 per 100,000 inhabitants, with a hospitalization and occupancy rate in ICU around 40 percent, as well as positivity in PCR tests higher than 20 percent.

And it is that, as Illa has pointed out, recently the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) set the action thresholds in 60 cases per 100,000 inhabitants and pointed out how “very worrying” situations when there are accumulated incidents of 200 cases per 100,000 inhabitants.

“It is necessary to take control of the pandemic and bend the curve”, the Minister of Health has insisted, to ensure that the Government is there to “solve problems” and that it has “always” maintained an attitude of “very active” coordination with the autonomous communities, although it is up to them to adopt the measures to slow the spread of the virus.

As of January 1, 2019, there are 63 municipalities with more than 100,000 inhabitants: Madrid, Barcelona, ​​Valencia, Seville, Zaragoza, Malaga, Murcia, Palma, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Bilbao, Alicante, Cordoba, Valladolid, Vigo, Gijón, Asturias, Barcelona, ​​Vitoria, La Coruña, Elche, Granada, Tarrasa, Badalona , Oviedo, Cartagena, Sabadell, Jerez de la Frontera, Móstoles, Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Pamplona, ​​Almería, Alcalá de Henares, Fuenlabrada, Leganés, San Sebastián, Getafe, Burgos, Albacete, Santander, Castellón de la Plana, Alcorcón, San Cristóbal de La Laguna, Logroño, Badajoz, Salamanca, Huelva, Marbella, Lleida, Tarragona, Dos Hermanas, Torrejón de Ardoz, Parla, Mataró, León, Algeciras, Santa Coloma de Gramanet, Alcobendas, Cádiz, Jaén, Orense, Reus, Telde , Girona and Baracaldo.


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.