Messi won the Golden Ball for the seventh time: – Incredible – VG

After being canceled due to covid-19 last year, the Ballon d’Or was again handed out on Monday night. And for the seventh time, it was Lionel Messi (34) who ran away with the generous prize.


Messi won ahead of Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho, in the award where football journalists around the world vote for the winner.

Messi received a total of 613 points in the poll, while Lewandowski followed close behind with 580 points. Jorginho scored a total of 460 points. It is the second smallest margin of victory for Messi in the Ballon d’Or, with the 2019 award as by far the most even. Then Messi got 686 points, while Virgil van Dijk got 679 points.

– The seventh … It’s quite extraordinary. It’s just amazing, says Messi after receiving the Golden Ball from Luis Suárez.

The Argentine also won the Golden Ball in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019.

In 2021, he was part of the Barcelona team that won the Spanish Cup and the Argentine team that won the Copa América.

– I want to thank all my teammates from Barcelona, ​​and everyone on the Argentine national team. After fighting for so many years, it was a dream to win the Copa América, says Messi.

Who do you think should win the Golden Ball?

Messi left Barcelona this summer, almost 18 years after making his debut for the club’s first team, and signing for Paris Saint-Germain.

After the speech, a video was put on where Messi got to see video greetings from, among others, Luis Suárez and Sergio Agüero. The Argentine seemed clearly moved and had to wipe away a tear, before Suárez himself came on stage and gave the trophy to Messi.

Messi has finished among the top three in the selection in 13 of the last 14 awards, with the 2018 selection as the only time he has finished outside the top three. The Argentine then became number five.


No prize was awarded in 2020, but Messi was clear on Monday as to who should receive it.

– I would like to mention Robert Lewandowski. It has been an honor to compete with you. Everyone knows and we agree that you were the winner last year. I think France Football should give you the Ballon d’Or in 2020. You deserve it and you should have it at home, says Messi.

All five of Messi’s second places have come this year where Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Golden Ball. The two are the two most winning players in the history of the Golden Ball, and have won seven and five times respectively. Just before Messi received the award, Ronaldo posted a long post on Instagram, where he accused the editor of France Football – the magazine behind the Ballon d’Or – of lying.

The Ballon d’Or has only been awarded to women twice before. Ada Stolsmo Hegerberg won the award when it was awarded for the first time in 2018, which is consequently the best Norwegian result in the Ballon d’Or. No Norwegian women were nominated for the award this year, which was won by Alexia Putellas.

The 27-year-old Spaniard plays alongside Caroline Graham Hansen in Barcelona, ​​who last season won the cup and series in Spain, in addition to winning the Champions League.

Putellas won ahead of teammate Jennifer Hermoso and Chelsea star Sam Kerr.

WON: Alexia Putellas with the Golden Ball.

Earlier in the evening, it became clear that Erling Braut Haaland finished in eleventh place in the selection, the best result for a Norwegian men’s player in the Ballon d’Or.

Haaland is the first Norwegian men’s player to have been nominated for the award since Bent Skammelsrud in 1997. Skammelsrud was then number 33, while Rune Bratseth ended up in 20th and 15th place respectively in 1992 and 1993.

EQUALLY OUTSIDE TOP TEN: Erling Braut Haaland came in eleventh place in the Ballon d’Or 2021.

A number of other prizes were also awarded on Monday night.

Pedri had his big breakthrough last season and won the Kopa trophy as best U21 player ahead of Jude Bellingham and Jamal Musiala.

Robert Lewandowski was named striker of the year, while Gianluigi Donnarumma received the Jasjin trophy as goalkeeper of the year.

The Danish national team captain Simon Kjær was praised for how he handled the situation when Christian Eriksen fell over during the European Championship match against Finland.

Chelsea received the award as club of the year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.