Luxembourg. General elections: on 8 October there are 649 candidates for the 60 seats of Parliament

Luxembourg.  General elections: on 8 October there are 649 candidates for the 60 seats of Parliament

by Alberto Galvi

A total of 649 candidates ran in the general elections in Luxembourg on 8 October, in which the 60 members of Parliament (Chambre des Deputés) are elected. A total of nine parties each present 60 candidates: LSAP (Luxembourg Socialist Workers Party), DP (Democratic Party), déi Gréng (Green Party), CSV (Christian Social People’s Party), déi Lénk (The Left), ADR (Party Democratic Reform Alternative), Piraten (The Pirates), Fokus (Fokus Luxembourg) and Liberté-Fraiheet (Freedom-Freedom), while three other parties with fewer candidates are: 26 from Volt (Volt Luxembourg), 51 from KPL ( Communist Party of Luxembourg) and 32 déi Konservativ (Conservative Gods).
The 60 members of the Chamber of Deputies are elected by proportional representation in four multi-member constituencies: 9 in the Northern constituency, 7 in the East, 23 in the South and 21 in the Centre. Most of the candidates are known to the electorate. As many as 17 members of the current government will seek re-election, while 57 of the 60 deputies currently present in the Chamber have expressed their intention to extend their mandate. Some deputies have a double mandate, with 44 positions they occupy in local government and in the Chamber. In their respective municipalities, 11 of them also hold the office of mayors.
Prime Minister Xavier Bettel is a DP candidate, and is part of the DP-LSAP-Green coalition that has governed Luxembourg for ten years. Another well-known face in politics is former MEP and CSV president Frank Engel, who co-founded the Fokus party last year, and announced his intention to run in October. KPL president Ali Ruckert is also running in the elections. Conservative founder and former ADR member Joé Thein is also a well-known face in Luxembourg politics.
The LSAP’s lead candidate is Paulette Lenert, while Volt is a relatively new party made up of less familiar names. Although there is a new name Liberté – Fräiheet on the ballot paper, this party is technically already represented in the House by founder and MP Roy Reding, after the latter left the ADR earlier this year.
Once the official results of the elections are announced, Grand Duke Henri will ask the winner to form a government which will then be sworn in by him. The LSAP leader said that she in no way rules out the continuation of the coalition, but she added that the composition of the government will depend on the results of the October 8 elections.
Following Parliament elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the monarch. The deputy prime minister is also appointed by the monarch. The Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister are accountable to Parliament. The government is proposed by the prime minister, appointed by the monarch. The monarchy in Luxembourg is hereditary.

Read more:  Filipino woman raped by US Caucasians in Canggu Bali, help from victim's friends

Previous articleTripodi inaugurates the school year of the Italian schools abroad in Athens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick