LIVE – Coronavirus: pandemic “far from over”, warns WHO


Europeans are still unable to agree on a list of countries that their level of contamination with Covid-19 would allow them to be considered “safe”, allowing their residents to come to Europe in July, AFP said.

Friday evening, the ambassadors of the countries of the EU and the Schengen area had proposed a list of fifteen states, which excludes the United States where the epidemic seems out of control, and which includes China under conditions. The Croatian EU presidency had given member states until Saturday evening to vote on it, but some asked for more time.

“Consultations are continuing, and will continue until Monday,” a European diplomatic source told AFP. “It is difficult to predict an outcome, but the presidency hopes to be able to vote on Monday,” said the source.

The proposed list contains fourteen countries (Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay) to which China is added, on condition of reciprocity. , that is to say on condition that it receives on its soil the travelers coming from the EU, according to a diplomatic source. Travelers from Andorra, Monaco, the Vatican and San Marino are also admitted.

The list therefore does not include the United States, the country most affected by the coronavirus pandemic with 125,255 deaths for 2,492,246 cases recorded on Saturday evening, no more than Brazil or Russia. It should be reviewed every two weeks.


Read Also:  Berlin: Hostel on North Korean embassy site has to close
Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.