Lionel Messi wins his seventh (!) Golden Ball: “I thought two…

Seven times Lionel Messi on the Ballon d’Or honors list. The Argentinian set his own record even sharper on Monday evening, he also won the prize in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019. Biggest challenger Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) stranded in second place, Italian all-winner Jorginho (Chelsea). ) came in third.

Here is inserted content from a social media network that wants to write or read cookies. You have not given permission for this.

Messi, who won the Copa America with Argentina last summer, scored a total of 613 points. Lewandowski collected 580 points and took home the trophy for the best attacker in the world as a consolation prize. “It’s incredible to be here again,” said Messi. “Two years ago I thought it was the last time. Winning the Copa America was the key.” The Argentinian also had compliments for runner-up Lewondawski. “Everyone knows and we all agree that you would have been the deserved winner last year. Hopefully they will give you the Ballon d’Or 2020.” The trophy was not awarded by corona last year.

Alexia Putellas is third laureate among the women

Spain’s Alexia Putellas won the third edition of the Golden Ball for women. The 27-year-old attacking midfielder of Champions League winner Barcelona was preferred over her country and teammate Jennifer Hermoso and the Australian Samantha Kerr (Chelsea). Putellas succeeds the Norwegian Ada Hegerberg (2018) and the American Megan Rapinoe (2019) on the honors list. She was also previously voted best football player of the year by UEFA.

© AP

Kevin De Bruyne finishes in eighth place

Kevin De Bruyne finished in eighth place. The Manchester City midfielder is the best Belgian in the result, Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea) was twelfth.

De Bruyne was also among the thirty nominees at the previous edition of the Golden Ball, in 2019. Then he finished in fourteenth place, just behind Eden Hazard. A Belgian has never finished in the top three. Paul Van Himst, in 1965, and Wilfried Van Moer, in 1980, came in fourth.

No trophy for Thibaut Courtois

Gianluigi Donnarumma was awarded the Lev Yachine Trophy as the best goalkeeper of the year. The final piece of Paris Saint-Germain preceded the Senegalese Edouard Mendy (Chelsea) and the Slovenian Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid). Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid) had to settle for eighth place.

It’s no surprise that the award goes to Donnarumma. The 22-year-old goalkeeper, who worked for AC Milan until the summer, led his country to the European title and was voted the best player of the European Championship. He was also the only goalkeeper in the top ten of the Golden Ball (tenth).

Pedri is best young player, Jeremy Doku ninth

Spaniard Pedri was voted best young player (-21). The attacking midfielder of Barcelona, ​​who turned 19 last Thursday, was preferred over Englishman Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund) and German Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich). Red Devil Jeremy Doku (Rennes) finished ninth in France Football’s referendum.

As the winner of the “Trofee Kopa”, Pedri succeeds the Frenchman Kylian Mbappé (2018) and the Dutchman Matthijs de Ligt (2019). The Golden Ball gala was canceled last year. Last week, Pedri was also voted Golden Boy by the Italian Tuttosport and last summer he was allowed to pick up an award as the best young player of the European Championship.

Final result

1. Lionel Messi (PSG)

2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Jorginho (Chelsea)

4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

5. Ngolo Kanté (Chelsea)

6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

8. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

9. Kylian Mbappé (PSG)

10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)

11. Erling Haaland (Dortmund)

12. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

14. Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)

15. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

16. Neymar (PSG)

17. Luis Suarez (Atlético Madrid)

18. Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)

19. Mason Mount (Chelsea)

20. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

21. Lautaro Martinez (International)

21. Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

23. Harry Kane (Tottenham)

24. Pedri (FC Barcelona)

25. Phil Foden (Manchester City)

26. Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

26. Gerard Moreno (FC Villarreal)

26. Nicolo Barella (International)

29. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

29. César Azpilicueta (Chelsea)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.