Joy at ESV Kaufbeuren – coach Raita and goalkeeper Fießinger were awarded for the season’s performance in the DEL2

Great honor for ESV Kaufbeuren. When choosing the best of the DEL2, the Allgäu received two of the coveted awards.

Marko Raita is Coach of the Year Photo: ESVK/Bader

The best players of the 2022/2023 season were chosen: The best players and the best coach of the current season were announced at the DEL Award Show in Düsseldorf. Against strong competition, Hunter Garlent from the Lausitzer Füchsen prevailed in the vote for Player of the Year in the German Ice Hockey League 2 (DEL2). In addition, the Canadian was also Striker of the Year and received both trophies from DEL2 Managing Director René Rudorisch and Weißwasser’s Managing Director Dirk Rohrbach. In Düsseldorf, the coach of the year was honored for the first time. The award was won by Marko Raita from ESV Kaufbeuren.

The Finn came to ESV Kaufbeuren in the summer and, together with his assistant coach Daniel Jun, ensured a very successful main round for the Allgäu team. “Marko Raita has not only injected a successful game system, but also encourages the young players in their further development,” explains DEL2 Managing Director Rudorisch.

The award for the best goalkeeper also goes to the Allgäu. Daniel Fießinger from ESV Kaufbeuren clearly won this election. In the summer he moved to the Allgäu and quickly became a strong support for the Buron Joker. There was great joy when the ESVK announced the extension of the contract with Fießinger. His ice time in the main round was 2369:29 minutes with a catch rate of 91.74 percent and a goal-against average of 2.15.

Striker of the year: Garlent also impressed with strong offensive qualities in his second DEL2 year in Weißwasser. He is an absolute top performer in the foxes and a team leader with a high level of commitment. “On the ice he’s an absolute strategist and he makes his team-mates better at his side. He is always down-to-earth and an absolute asset for every dressing room,” explains DEL2 editor-in-chief of Eishockey NEWS Sebastian Groß.

Read more:  Québec's Delegate General in New York bows out

From the EC Kassel Huskies, Maximilian Faber clearly won the election for the best defender. He is always a real leader for his team and also proves his scoring qualities. In 51 main round games, he scored eight goals and contributed a strong 37 assists. His plus-minus value of plus 45 is the highest of all DEL2 players. Faber already received the award for best defender in the 2018/2019 season.

The EC Kassel Huskies also provide the rookie of the year with Alec Ahlroth. Ahlroth switched from the Oberliga to the Huskies in the summer and was awarded “Rookie of the Year” in the Oberliga Süd after the season. The striker quickly demonstrated his skills in the DEL2. In the main round, the German-Finn scored 16 goals and contributed 24 assists.

Fabian Herrmann was named the best U21 promoter of the year. The player from EC Bad Nauheim has received the promotional player of the month award twice in the past two years. Now comes the coronation. In the main round, the striker completed 50 games, scoring eight goals and providing 22 assists.

The EC Kassel Huskies won the main round with a new point record. 131 points, 212 goals and 109 goals conceded – the North Hessians completed a strong main round. The ice pirates Crimmitschau received the fair play prize and Marcel Müller from the Krefeld Pinguinen became the DEL2 top scorer with 70 scorer points (24 goals / 46 assists).

In addition to the sporting directors or managing directors of the 14 DEL2 clubs, the captains of all teams, the officials of the league, SpradeTV and the specialist magazine Eishockey NEWS also took part in the voting for the players of the year, which is organized by Eishockey NEWS. Each winner in his category receives a noble glass trophy. The photo of the actor in the respective category is applied to it. The trophy was made in cooperation with Mauritz Individual.

Read more:  Hotma Sitompul was angry at being accused of cheating, affirming that she wants peace with Bams' mother

All awards at a glance:

  • Best goalkeeper: Daniel Fießinger (ESV Kaufbeuren)
  • Best Defender: Maximilian Faber (EC Kassel Huskies)
  • Best Striker: Hunter Garlent (Lausitz Foxes)
  • Bester Rookie: Alec Ahlroth (EC Kassel Huskies)
  • Best U21 promoter: Fabian Herrmann (EC Bad Nauheim)
  • Best Coach: Marko Raita (ESV Kaufbeuren)
  • Best player: Hunter Garlent (Lausitz Foxes)
  • Main round winners: EC Kassel Huskies
  • Fair Play Winner: Ice pirates Crimmitschau
  • PART2-Top scorer: Marcel Müller (Krefeld penguins)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick