Jokowi Calls for Rejection of Vaccine Nationalism Page all

JAKARTA, KOMPAS.comPresident Joko Widodo said, at this time vaccine nationalism Covid-19 is increasing. The term vaccine nationalism refers to a situation when a country wants to secure vaccine stocks for the benefit of its own citizens.

Therefore, Jokowi called for rejection of vaccine nationalism. Because, when a pandemic hits, vaccines are a public good.

“We are currently witnessing an increase in vaccine nationalism. We must reject this. We must support multilateral vaccines,” said Jokowi giving a speech at the 10th Summit (Summit) of the Developing Eight (D-8) countries virtually on Thursday. (8/4/2021).

“D-8 must continue to promote equitable access to vaccines. Availability and affordability of vaccines is the key to getting out of the crisis,” he continued.

Also read: Jokowi at the D-8 Summit: We Must Promote Fair Access to Covid-19 Vaccines

According to the President, during a pandemic, the Covid-19 vaccine was a global public good. So, the world needs to come together to produce and distribute vaccines for all.

This means that production capacity must be doubled and there should be no restrictions on both the production and distribution of vaccines.

“This is where the D-8 can play a role in offering its production capacity to increase production, encourage equal access to vaccines, and encourage technology transfer,” said Jokowi.

He said a number of countries, including Indonesia, are now developing their own vaccine production.

Therefore, D-8 must open cooperation in the development and production of the Covid-19 vaccine in the future. Jokowi also invited D-8 to contribute to global economic recovery.

He believes that the D-8 can contribute greatly to global economic recovery with the potential for trade between member countries that exceeds US $ 1.5 trillion.

Read Also:  New Motorcycle Auction at IIMS Motobike Hybrid Show, Starting from IDR 1 Million

“The facilitation of D-8 intranegara trade must be encouraged, trade barriers must be minimized, intensification of intra-trade between D-8 member countries is the key. This will be an engine of economic growth, “he said.

Also read: Minister of Health said he would ask President Jokowi to negotiate with China to increase the dose of Sinovac vaccine

In addition, Jokowi said, D-8 countries must develop digital technology.

According to Jokowi, digitization, artificial intelligence, computing power, big data, as well data analytics has given birth to new breakthroughs and is the economy of the future.

For that, he encouraged D-8 to take advantage of this technology for the welfare of the people of each member country.

He highlighted the demographic advantages that the D-8 countries have. The demographic advantage of the young population of D-8 is around 323 million people or about 27.3 percent.

This figure is much higher than the G-7 youth population of 135 million or around 17.3 percent of the total population.

“Investing in young people is an investment for the future. For that, innovation must continue to be grown, industry start-up must continue to be pushed. The advantages of D-8 as a Muslim majority country must be exploited. Industrial development start-up based on sharia can be developed, “said Jokowi.

Also read: Delivery of AstraZeneca Vaccine Constrained, What is the Government’s Strategy?

Jokowi added, in 2021 the D-8 organization will enter its 24th year. During a pandemic, according to him, there is no other choice but to work together.

“With togetherness, I believe D-8 will move forward and prosper together,” said the former governor of DKI Jakarta.

Read Also:  Get ready to see Kim Soo Hyun's ridiculous action at Secretly, Greatly Tonight

The D-8 organization was founded on June 15, 1997.

The aim of this organization is to gather the economic strength of Muslim countries in the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC).

The holding of this summit coincides with the 24th anniversary of the establishment of the D-8.

The D-8 Summit this time was attended by almost all D-8 member countries, namely Bangladesh, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Egypt, Pakistan, Turkey, and Nigeria.


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.