Indonesia, Singapore tighten travel restrictions amid spike in cases

On July 14, Indonesia and Singapore saw a sharp rise in the number of new COVID-19 cases as these countries continued to tighten travel restrictions to prevent the spread of the Delta variant of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.

>> COVID-19: record number of daily infections in Indonesia
>> COVID-19: Indonesia’s death toll exceeds 1,000 in 24 hours
>> Singapore: the “cruise to nowhere” had a positive case on board

People wear masks to prevent the COVID-19 outbreak in Marina Bay Sands, Singapore, May 14.

Photo: AFP / VNA / CVN

Indonesia registered 54,517 new cases of COVID-19 on Wednesday, July 14, the highest daily tally in the country since the start of the epidemic. The archipelago has accumulated a total of 2.67 million cases since the first cases were reported in March last year. Another 991 COVID-19 patients have died in the past 24 hours, bringing the total number of coronavirus deaths to 69,210.

Indonesia has become the first country in the world in terms of the number of daily infections, a new epicenter of the virus, and the country with the highest number of deaths in Southeast Asia. In order to prevent the spread of the epidemic, the Indonesian National Police continues to increase the number of checkpoints on the traffic lanes in localities to tighten the Enforcement of Restrictions on Community Activities (PPKM).

Indonesian officials said the move was aimed at stemming the flow of migrants during the Eid al-Adha holiday on July 20. On the same day, the Philippines announced that it would ban entry to people who are from Indonesia or who have recently traveled to Indonesia. This decision will take effect from July 16 to 31.

Singapore on July 14 confirmed 60 new cases of COVID-19 infection, including 56 cases of intra-community transmission, bringing the national toll to 62,804. A total of 36 coronavirus deaths have been detected in the city-state so far. In order to control the spread of the epidemic, Singapore’s health ministry announced that as of 11:59 p.m. on July 15, people from Myanmar will no longer be allowed to enter the city-state.

Specifically, all long-term and short-term residence card holders who have visited Myanmar, including transit, in the past 21 days will not be permitted to enter or transit Singapore. This provision will also apply to all those who have been previously authorized to enter Singapore.

Singapore’s health ministry said the Singapore COVID-19 Interdepartmental Working Group (MTF) will regularly review border control measures to manage the risk of imported cases, which lead to the spread of the virus in the community. .




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.