In Estonia, testing will be mandatory upon arrival in countries at risk from Covid-19 omicron

In Estonia, the Covid-19 test will be mandatory for people coming from countries where there is an increased risk of being infected with the omicron strain of coronavirus, the government has decided.

The European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) currently identifies eight southern African countries as risk areas: Botswana, the Republic of South America, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swatin and Zimbabwe, and Egypt and Tur .

Testing will be mandatory regardless of whether the person arrived in Estonia from these ten countries by land, sea or air. Estonians will be tested for free.

At the same time, the Estonian government strongly recommends that anyone entering from non-listed countries be tested.

In the event of a negative test, people who have been vaccinated against Covid-19 in the last twelve months or who have contracted the disease in the last six months will not need to go into self-isolation, and non-vaccinated test.

Those who refuse to take the test will have to spend ten days in self-isolation.

While waiting for the test results, everyone – vaccinated and sick as well as non-vaccinated – will be required to stay in their place of residence.

The requirement to test or self-isolate will not apply to people passing through Estonia.

Initially, such a procedure is established until December 15, inclusive.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.