Hurricane Sally: Trump approves emergency declaration for Florida

According to the official statement, federal assistance will be provided to the counties of Bay, Escambia, Holmes, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton, Washington, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Jackson and Liberty, all of them near the wake that the hurricane follows. the northwestern part of the state.

The President’s action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts aimed at alleviating the damage caused by the meteor to the local population. And it seeks to provide adequate assistance and the required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, in order to save lives, protect property, safety and public health, to minimize or prevent the threat of a catastrophe.

Thus, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize and provide, at its discretion, the equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impact of the emergency caused by the hurricane.

On September 15, Governor Ron DeSantis declared a state of emergency in the counties of Escambia and Santa Rosa.

According to the official statement, Jeffrey L. Coleman has been assigned as the federal coordinator in charge of response operations in the affected area.

The president also declared a state of emergency in the states of Alabama, Louisiana and Mississippi.

In the early morning of September 16, Hurricane Sally, converted to category 2, made landfall in Golf Shores in Alabama and is forecast to cause dangerous flooding in the northwest strip of Florida.



Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.