For the first time since 2005, the Ballon d’Or shortlist is without Messi’s name

Paris: France Football has released the shortlist for the Ballon d’Or award for the best football player of the past season. Notably, PSG’s Argentine superstar Lionel Messi is missing from the 30-man list. Last season, Messi, who won the seventh Ballon d’Or award in his career, did not perform well last season. This is the first time since 2005 that the Ballon d’Or shortlist has been released without Messi’s name.

Meanwhile, Cristiano Ronaldo, who shone for Manchester United last season, has made it to the shortlist.

Messi is the most awarded player with seven Ballon d’Or awards. The 2020 Ballon d’Or Awards were not announced due to Covid. Messi won the award in 2019. Messi won the Ballon d’Or award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Thibaut Courtois, Raphael Leo, Christopher Nkunku, Mohamed Salah, Joshua Kimmich, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Vinicius Junior, Bernardo Silva, Luis Diaz, Robert Lewandowski, Riyad Mahrez, Casemiro, Heung-Min Son, Harry Kane, Darwin Nunes, Phil Foden , Sadio Mane, Sebastian Haller, Luka Modric, Antonio Rudiger, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kevin De Bruyne, Dusan Vlahovic, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland are on the shortlist.

Content Highlights: Lionel Messi misses out for the first time since 2005 in Ballon D Or list

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.