Football: the Superlega is born with Inter, Juve and Milan – Football

Twelve European football clubs have announced that they have reached an agreement to establish a new midweek football competition, the Super League, “governed by the Founding Clubs”, namely Milan, Arsenal, Atlético de Madrid, Chelsea, Barca, Inter, Juventus, Liverpool , Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur. Three more clubs are expected to join as Founding Clubs before the inaugural season, which is expected to start “as soon as possible”. Uefa, the ECA and the British Prime Minister Boris Johnson himself had already spoken out against the initiative, who had defined it as ‘very harmful to football.’ Juventus announced that it had already left the ECA, ‘Association of European clubs, and Andrea Agnelli also resigned from the Uefa executive, specifying however that “the founding clubs will continue to participate in their respective national competitions and, until the actual start of the Super League, in European competitions”. Fifa, for its part, has expressed its disapproval of a “European separatist league closed outside international football structures” which does not respect “the fundamental principles of solidarity, inclusiveness, integrity and fair financial redistribution”.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.