Home Sport Excluding Cristiano .. Imobelli officially crowned the golden shoe

Excluding Cristiano .. Imobelli officially crowned the golden shoe


Lazio striker Ciro Imobili has officially secured the golden shoe for 2020, after Cristiano Ronaldo was eliminated from his Juventus squad against Roma.

Juventus coach Mauricio Sari announced his team’s list for the Roma match in the 38th and final round of the Italian League, and his choices saw Cristiano Ronaldo being left out for his rest.

And Ronaldo was the only player still able to catch Imobili who scored 35 goals to top the Serie A top scorer this season, four goals behind Cristiano.

This means that Imobili has become the winner of the golden shoe, which gives the best scorer in European leagues with 35 goals, ahead of Polish player Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich with 34 goals.

Consequently, Ronaldo suffices to remain in the third place on the scorers list in the European Golden Boot struggle 2019-2020, and has 31 goals, to fail to crown the golden shoe for the fifth time in its history.

Imobili became the third Italian to win this award, after both Francesco Totti, legend of Rome in 2006-2007 with 26 goals, and Luca Toni with Fiorentina in the 2005-2006 season with 31 goals.

Lionel Messi, the Argentine star and captain of Barcelona, ​​won the golden shoe in the last three seasons from 2017 to 2019, with his Uruguayan teammate Luis Suárez in the Catalan team in the 2015-2016 season.

Imobili can also set a new record unprecedented in the Italian league for goals scored in one season, when he faces Naples at nine o’clock until the quarter on Sunday evening in the last round.

Imobili, 30, separates one goal from Argentine Gonzalo Higuain, the record holder in the number of goals scored in one season in “Seria A”, after scoring 36 goals with Napoli in the 2015-2016 season.

Messi is the culmination of the European Shoe Award throughout its history, as she sits on the legend of her legend with 6 times in seasons 2009-10, 2012-13, 2011-12, 2016-17, 2017-18 and 2018-19.

The single award did not come out of the Spanish league 11 years ago, and the English Premier League appeared to its Spanish counterpart in a single season during that period, when former Liverpool striker Luis Suárez equaled Cristiano Ronaldo, the former Real Madrid player, in the lead after the end of the 2013/2014 season.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.