EU: Entry restrictions apply for 14 countries on July 1st

foreign countries European Union

Entry restrictions apply to citizens of these 14 countries on July 1st

– –

| Reading time: 2 minutes

video-element " data-qa="VideoElement">

This is how the Corona rapid test at Frankfurt Airport works

– –

Frankfurt Airport now offers a quick corona test for travelers. The results should be available within a few hours. WELT reporter Daniel Koop tested that.

The European Union wants to lift its entry freeze for only a few countries. Russia and the USA are not included because of their infection numbers. Dealing with China is conditional.

– – –

Dhe countries of the European Union want to maintain the entry restrictions imposed by the corona pandemic for people from the United States and numerous other third countries for the time being. Only people from 14 countries are to be allowed to return to normal from July 1, as the German press agency learned after the initiation of a corresponding decision-making process by EU diplomats.

Specifically, these are Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Japan, Canada, Morocco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. China should only be taken into account if, in return, it also removes entry restrictions for Europeans.

An official announcement of the decision is expected on Tuesday. It is certain that the required majority of the EU countries will come together, otherwise the written procedure for the decision would not have been initiated.

also read

– – – – –

According to the proposed resolution, the number of new Covid 19 infections in the two weeks before will be decisive for easing the entry restrictions in the future. In addition, the trend over the same period and how the respective state deals with the pandemic should also play a role.

Entry restrictions should be continuously checked

Specifically, it is planned that the number of new infections per 100,000 inhabitants within the past two weeks should be “close to or below 16” – in other words, like the EU average. The trend of new cases in the same period should be “stable or decreasing” compared to the previous 14 days. Measures for contact tracking of infected people, the number of tests and containment efforts are to play a role in the handling of states with Covid-19.

also read

Joe Biden is on the rise in the polls.  But he cannot weigh himself in safety– – – – –

Citizens from countries heavily affected by the corona pandemic, such as the United States and Russia, would therefore initially be left out. The last time there were 60 to 120 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in 14 days. For countries like Brazil and Saudi Arabia, an overview by the EU health authority ECDC on Sunday even gives a value of 120 or more cases. The overview does not provide any information about the trend.

In order to take into account the development of the number of infections, the entry restrictions should be continuously checked. The question of whether EU citizens can travel to the respective third country should also be included. In China, for example, despite relatively low infection rates, foreigners are still banned from entry.

also read

It's about the biggest constitutional change in Russia's history - and Putin's hold on power– – – – –

To curb the coronavirus pandemic, all EU states except Ireland and the non-EU states Switzerland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland agreed in mid-March to initially ban travel to the EU that was not absolutely necessary. The entry stop had been extended several times and is currently valid until the end of June.

– .

Read more:  Refugees: State guarantor apparently takes costs of 21.7 million

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick