Ephemeral messages and “disappearance mode” for WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger – Web Trends

DIGITAL ATTITUDE: Social networks and messaging offer one after the other the possibility of sending ephemeral messages which are automatically erased after a few hours or a few days.

Snapchat was the first in 2011 with an app that allowed sharing of photos and then videos with scheduled self-destruction – between 1 and 10 seconds – as soon as they appeared on the recipient’s screen. Immediately adopted by adolescents, the platform stood out for popularizing the sixth, or sending photos and text messages of a sexual nature.

To expand its audience, Snapchat then offered the option to post content accessible to everyone for 24 hours – this is the model of stories that we now find on Instagram, Facebook, Messenger, YouTube, even on Microsoft’s professional social network LinkedIn. And two weeks ago, Twitter, the last to arrive, announced the global deployment of “Fleets», Offering the possibility of posting stealthy tweets, also limited to 24 hours.

Even on WhatsApp, since November, we can send messages that disappear after 7 days.

“Most of the messages we exchange are not worth keeping for eternity. It is not necessary to keep traces of it ”, we can read on the blog of the company as an explanation.

This temporality is welcome to free us from our digital footprint. But if the stories Facebook group applications are no longer visible to the public, they have not necessarily disappeared for all that. They are saved by default in the archives of our smartphones and on the servers of the social network.

Read Also:  PlayStation 5 vs Xbox Series X: Digital Foundry fa infuriare i fan Sony

As for Snapchat, which is more respectful of our privacy, the recordings of stories must be activated by the user and are not kept beyond 30 days.

After the ephemeral option for our exchanges offered by WhatsApp, Facebook began to roll out a “disappearance mode”(“ Vanish Mode ”) for Messenger and Instagram messaging. Are they also saved on the company’s servers like the stories? Apparently not: “Once a message has been delivered, it no longer resides on our servers”.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trending