Emergency declaration expanded in 31 counties in Texas

Austin – Texas State Governor Greg Abbott announced today that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (Fema) has expanded the emergency declaration for an additional 31 counties.

It was on February 13 that the state president asked the White House for assistance for 254 counties.

The petition will allow eligible Texans to apply for assistance in repairing broken pipes and property damage.

On February 20, the federal government partially approved the application that included 77 counties and public assistance in all 254 counties.

The counties included in this approval are Anderson, Austin, Bosque, Bowie, Burnet, Cherokee, Colorado, Erath, Fannin, Freestone, Gonzales, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hill, Houston, Hunt, Jackson, Jim Wells, Jones, Limestone, Lubbock, Medina, Milam, Navarro, Rusk, Taylor, Tom Green, Val Verde, Washington, and Wood.

It was added in the document that more help will continue to be requested from counties as the state of Texas continues to receive information from people who suffered damage from the winter storm.

“I am grateful to Fema for her swift approval of these additional counties and for her continued partnership as we ensure that Texans have access to assistance after the winter storm,” Governor Abbott said in a news release.

“I urge Texans to use the Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool so the state can continue to identify damages and fight for the crucial assistance our communities need,” he added.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.