Djokovic has masters Zverev, Medvedev and Schwartzman at the Tournament

World number one and five-time champion Novak Djokovic will compete in the group at the Champions Tournament with German winner Alexander Zverev last year, Russian Daniil Medvedev and rookie Diego Schwartzman from Argentina. If the Serbian favorite won the prestigious final event of the season in London, the sixth title would equal the record of the absent Roger Federer.

Lisi Niesner, Reuters

Federer has not played after the second knee surgery since June. Djokovic last triumphed at the Champions Tournament five years ago, and after today’s lottery, he is the leader of a group called Tokyo 1970. Just fifty years ago in the Japanese capital, this tradition began. The second group is called London 2020, as it will mean a farewell to the British capital. Turin will be the venue from next year.

The London 2020 group consists of the Spaniard Rafael Nadal, who has never won the Champions Tournament and has been in the final twice, defending champion Stefanos Tsitsipas from Greece, Austrian Dominic Thiem and the second debutant Andrei Rublyov from Russia. The champions tournament starts on Sunday.

Los Champions Tournaments:
Tokyo 1970 Group:
Djokovic (1-SRB), Medvedev (4-RUS)
A. Zverev (5-DEU), Schwartzman (8-ARG)
London 2020 Group:
Nadal (2-Sp.), Thiem (3-AUT)
Tsitsipas (6-Czech), Rublev (7-Russian)

The champions’ tournament will start on Sunday and the opening match will be a replay of last year’s final: Tsitsipas will challenge the winners of this year’s US Open Thiem. The evening program will belong to Nadal and Rubljov. The only duel between a Spanish tennis player won the New York Grand Slam three years ago.

Read Also:  The duet of Andrea Dovizioso and Marc Marquez at Honda is considered unrealistic

Follow also on Instagram >>>


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.