Disqualification at Roland-Garros 2023: Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi’s unintentional throw at ball collector



Video length: 7 min.

Article written by

More fear than harm for the picker. The pair, who were playing their round of 16 against Bouzkova and Sorribes Tormo, were however disqualified from the women’s doubles tournament on Sunday.

What was supposed to be a simple return ball to the ball collector, turned out at the end of the course with tragic accents for the pair Miyu Kato / Aldila Sutjiadi, Sunday June 4 at Roland-Garros. Opposed, on court 14, to Marie Bouzkova and Sara Sorribes Tormo for a ticket in the quarter-finals, the pair were disqualified from the tournament for a visibly unintentional throw in the head of a young ball boy (2 minutes 50). Leading the score (3-1) in the second set after conceding the first set, Japan’s Miyu Kato returned the ball that had just failed in the side of the net to the ball collector, as is customary.

But the young teenager did not have time to see the ball coming and took it.çue in the head, bursting into tears. The fright passed – the latter assured to be well, quickly comforted by the player – a tournament official then considered that this gesture was worth a disqualification, with immediate effect. The chair umpire had previously neutralized the game, without making an eliminatory decision. In tears, the Japanese, 31st in the world in the WTA doubles ranking, was inconsolable for a long time on the court.

A floating settlement

Far from being an isolated fact, the regulations seem quite vague concerning the intentionality of these jets. In 2020, Novak Djokovic was disqualified from the US Open for touching a linesman. The Serb, world number one, then had a gesture of humor even if he had not intentionally targeted the judge. On Saturday, the young Russian Mirra Andreeva received a warning – without being disqualified – after sending a ball into the public following a disputed exchange with Coco Gauff. “That was really stupid of meassured the young woman of 16 years in a press conference. There was no need to do that.”

2023-06-04 13:30:39
#VIDEO #RolandGarros #sending #ball #pickup #KatoSutjiadi #pair #disqualified

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick