Digital terrestrial 2021: in which regions it is necessary to change TV

In 2021 the “switch off“, Ie the transition from the old digital terrestrial to the second generation in standard DVB-T2, comes alive. With the new standard we will be able to see more channels, at a higher resolution and quality, but in some cases we will have to change TV or decoder.

The transition from first generation digital to second generation is not an optional choice: gradually the old signal will be turned off and who does not have a compatible device will see nothing more. The Italian government, in fact, has already assigned some frequencies currently used by digital terrestrial (but which will not be used by DVB-T2) to telephone operators: they will serve to expand the 5G network. Fortunately, the switch off will not come “everything and immediately“, But it will be gradual and also geographically differentiated. Italy was divided into 4 areas, each of which will switch to second generation DTT at a different time. Here’s who gets to first in 2021.

DVB-T2: le regioni in Area 2 e 3

It sounds strange, but that’s it: le first regions that will switch to DVB-T2 in 2021 they will not be those inserted in Area 1, but those in Area 2 and 3. In these regions the current signal will be switched off in the period 1 September – 31 December 2021:

  • Emilia Romagna
  • Friuli Venezia Giulia
  • Lombardy
  • Piedmont
  • Autonomous Province of Trento
  • Autonomous Province of Bolzano
  • Veneto
  • Valle d’Aosta

Those residing in these territories must check that their TV (or their external decoder) is compatible with DVB-T2, otherwise they will no longer see television from 1 September 2021.

How to know if the TV is compatible with DVB-T2

The simplest way to know if your television set, that is the TV with integrated decoder or the external decoder, is compatible with the new DVB-T2 standard is to simply look for this writing on the device: almost all compatible models have an adhesive stamp applied. declaring compatibility with the standard in question.

But, be careful: don’t get confused between DVB-T2 sticker and DVB-S2 sticker. The first is for second generation digital terrestrial digital, the second is for second generation digital satellite (which in Italy almost exclusively means tivùsat platform).

Another way to make sure our equipment is ready for the future is to go to channels 100 or 200: if the TV shows “Test HEVC Main10”Then everything is ok, if it shows nothing it means that it is not compatible with DVB-T2.

What to do if the TV is not compatible with DVB-T2

If neither the TV nor any external decoder are compatible with second generation digital terrestrial, then there is little to do: they must be changed with compatible models, or you will no longer see any TV channel.

Fortunately, there is a special public incentive, the so-called Bonus TV 2020 (which will obviously also last in 2021): it is reserved for families with ISEE up to 20,000 euros (self-certified) and consists of a direct discount at the time of purchase of up to 50 euros.


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.