DFB-Pokal: draw for the 2nd round postponed again

30 teams from the 1st to 4th league have already made it into the 2nd round of the DFB Cup. There are still two question marks. You can find out when the matches will be drawn and held here.

This time the balls can only be drawn later.

imago images

This year everything is a little different, including the DFB Cup. Actually 32 teams should have been determined for the 2nd round, but two are still missing. That concerns the first round game of Schalke, which was rescheduled for November 3rd or 4th – regardless of whether the opponent is Schweinfurt or Türkgücü. In addition, FC Bayern and 1. FC Düren will not play their first round match until October 15.

This also has an impact on the draw for the 2nd round, because the winners have to be assigned to either the professional or the amateur pot. Thus, the procedure shifts significantly backwards. Initially, the draw was postponed to October 18, but because the Schalke game will only be played at the beginning of November, the draw has to be postponed again. In response to a kicker request, the DFB announced that a new date was still being agreed. November 8th is certainly an option. Usually, the rounds are drawn as part of the ARD sports show on a Sunday from 6 p.m. in the German Football Museum in Dortmund.

This is how the draw works

In the first lottery pot are all the professional teams of the Bundesliga and 2nd league. The second lottery pot, the so-called amateur pot, includes all teams from the 3rd league. First a professional team is drawn for each amateur team, then the remaining professional teams are drawn among themselves. The team drawn first has home rights. Only from the round of 16 onwards are all the balls drawn from one pot.

The matches of the 2nd round will be on December 22nd and 23rd carried out. In the past few years there have been four games at 6.30 p.m. and four games at 8.45 p.m.

The other rounds at a glance:

Round of 16: 2/3 February 2021
Quarter-finals: 2/3 March 2021
Semi-finals: 1./2. May 2021
Final: May 13, 2021

An overview of the previously established participants:


1. FSV Mainz 05
RB Leipzig
Eintracht Frankfurt
FC Augsburg
VfL Wolfsburg
Borussia Monchengladbach
1. FC Cologne
Union Berlin
Werder Bremen
TSG Hoffenheim
VfB Stuttgart
Bayer 04 Leverkusen
Sc freiburg
Borussia Dortmund

2. Bundesliga:

Eintracht Braunschweig
VfL Osnabrück
VfL Bochum
SpVgg Greuther Fürth
Fortuna Dusseldorf
Holstein Kiel
Sv sandhausen
Jahn Regensburg
SC Paderborn 07
SV Darmstadt 98
Hannover 96

3. League:

SV Wehen Wiesbaden
Dynamo Dresden


SSV Ulm 1846 football
SV Elversberg
Red and white food

Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.