The Oculus Quest 2 is a nice thing, but having to link a Facebook account unfortunately throws a spanner in the works. Now it turns out that when someone deletes their Facebook account, all games on all paired headsets also disappear.
Deleting the Facebook account associated with an Oculus Quest 2 will also delete the purchases on the vr headset.
On Twitter a screenshot of Facebook’s message surfaced for the first time. Anyone who deletes their account will also delete all ‘Oculus information’, including purchases and achievements.
This means that users with a Quest, Rift or Rift S who have linked their Facebook account will also lose all their purchases. Users who have not yet done so can delete Facebook without consequences. Oculus previously announced that Oculus accounts will be supported until 2023, after which time linking a Facebook account will be mandatory.
There has been much criticism of the requirement of a Facebook account when using the Oculus Quest 2. For example, the pairing makes the headset unusable in some cases.