Beware of the Earth Shaking Ganjing! China Enraged, US Ships Enter

Jakarta, CNBC IndonesiaChina warned the United States (US) in the South China Sea (SCS). This is because the US destroyer, USS John S. McCain, entered the Xisha Islands (Paracel) without permission, Friday (9/10/2020).

Quoted from local media CGTN, the action was called dangerous and provocative. The Xinsha Islands are claimed by China to belong to the country even though in fact a number of countries have similar views, namely Vietnam and Taiwan.

“The Chinese Navy is aware of US navigation and dispatches naval and air forces to monitor the voyage,” Senior Colonel Zhang Nandong, also spokesman for the PLA Southern Theater Command, said in a statement, as quoted by local media CGTN, Saturday (10/10) / 2020) ..

He urged the US to hold back its military operations. He added China‘s sovereignty over the South China Sea was undeniable, vowing to maintain China‘s territorial integrity with all necessary measures.

Zhang said the US had often “flexed its muscles” and strengthened its military presence in the arena. According to him this is very detrimental to China‘s sovereignty and security interests and undermines regional peace and stability, Zhang said.

Meanwhile, quoted from Americanmilitary News, the US Navy’s 7th Fleet said McCain exercised the right of navigation and freedom around the Paracel Islands. The operation demonstrates that these waters fall outside what China can legally claim to be its territorial sea.

China has claimed islands in the South China Sea under a nine-dash line policy announced in 2009. This is despite the fact that the region is located up to 1,000 nautical miles off China‘s coast.

The islands that China claims are also claimed by Malaysia, Vietnam and the Philippines, because their territory is close to the coastlines of these countries. With RI, China was tense over North Natuna.

The US has previously officially rejected these Chinese claims. The US called China breaking the law, last July.

Previously, NATO was asked to participate in monitoring China in the region. The four QUAD countries consisting of the US, Japan, India, Australia are also said to be forming an alliance to oversee China in Asia.

[Gambas:Video CNBC]

(Head / head)


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.