Armenia and Azerbaijan have agreed to a ceasefire

“The ceasefire is announced from 12:00 on October 10, 2020 for humanitarian reasons in order to exchange prisoners of war and other detainees and bodies of the fallen,” TASS quoted Russia, Armenia and Azerbaijan as saying.

Lavrov also said that the parties to the conflict had agreed to start talks on a peaceful settlement of the situation in Nagorno-Karabakh, through the so-called Minsk Group of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE). The group was formed in 1992 to mediate the peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh dispute. The group is chaired by the United States, Russia and France.

The Nagorno-Karabakh dispute – an enclave in southwestern Azerbaijan with a predominantly Armenian population – has long existed between Armenia and Azerbaijan. The current clash flared up on September 27 and is the most serious in more than 25 years.

Armed conflict erupted in 1988, and Nagorno-Karabakh, with the support of Armenia, broke away from Azerbaijan in a war that claimed an estimated 30,000 lives and resulted in hundreds of thousands of refugees. At present, the enclave and the adjacent Lachin Corridor, leading to Armenia, are under the military control of Armenia. Azerbaijan considers the territory to be occupied.

Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.