Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay are competing for the 2030 FIFA World Cup

Argentina won the World Cup in Qatar

NOS Football

The fact that world champion Argentina wants to organize the 2030 World Cup together with Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay has been known for some time. Now the four countries have launched their so-called ‘bid’ for this.

In 2030 it will be 100 years since the first World Cup took place in Uruguay. All matches were played in the capital Montevideo at the time.

“We are sure that FIFA takes that past into account. It would be wonderful if history is honored and the event is held in the same region after all this time,” the candidates said in a joint statement.

Argentina already hosted the World Cup in 1978, where the host country beat the Netherlands in the final. Chile hosted the tournament in 1962.

The Dutch dressing room after the lost 1978 World Cup final

FIFA will decide on the allocation in 2024. Spain, Portugal and Ukraine are also in the picture to jointly organize the event. These countries have the support of UEFA.

The general expectation is that Saudi Arabia will also apply, in cooperation with Greece and Egypt. The 2026 World Cup will take place in the United States, Mexico and Canada.

Read more:  Tuchel expresses his sadness after the end of his experience with Chelsea

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick