Alphonso Davies back in the Canadian selection

The 21-year-old Albertan has missed Canada’s final six games in their 2022 World Cup qualifying run due to myocarditis that developed after he contracted COVID-19. He returned to action for Bayern on April 6, after an absence of nearly four months.

Three members of CF Montreal have also been selected by coach John Herdman in the roster of 25 players: defenders Alistair Johnston and Kamal Miller, as well as midfielder Samuel Piette.

Canada, which currently occupies the 28e world ranking, will play a friendly against Iran (no 21) on June 5 at BC Place before kicking off their CONCACAF Nations League campaign four days later against Curaçao (no 79). On June 13, the Canadians will travel to Honduras to face the 82nd in the world.

The friendly match against Iran is not unanimous due to the 55 Canadian citizens and 30 permanent residents killed in the crash of Ukraine International Airlines Flight 752, shot down by an Iranian missile after departing Tehran on 8 January 2020.

An organization of the families of the victims of this theft has been opposed to this meeting since its announcement. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said this week that the Canada Border Services Agency will decide whether Iranian officials will be allowed into the country.

The formation of Canada

Guardians : Milan Borjan, Red Star Belgrade (Serbia); Maxime Crepeau, Los Angeles FC (MLS); Dayne St. Clair, Minnesota United (MLS)

Defenders : Samuel Adekugbe, Hatayspor FC (Turkey); Raheem Edwards, Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS); Doneil Henry, Los Angeles FC (MLS); Alistair Johnston, CF Montreal (MLS); Scott Kennedy, SSV Jahn Regensburg (Germany); Richie Laryea, Nottingham Forest (England); Kamal Miller, CF Montreal (MLS); Steven Vitoria, Moreirense FC (Portugal)

Midfielders : Stephen Eustaquio, FC Porto (Portugal); Atiba Hutchinson, Besiktas (Turkey); Mark-Anthony Kaye, Colorado Rapids (MLS); Jonathan Osorio, Toronto FC (MLS); Samuel Piette, CF Montreal (MLS)

Attackers : Charles-Andreas Brym, FC Eindhoven (Netherlands); Tajon Buchanan, Club Bruges (Belgium); Lucas Cavallini, Whitecaps of Vancouver (MLS); Jonathan David, Lille OSC (France); Alphonso Davies, Bayern Munich (Germany); David Hoilett, Reading FC (England); Luca Koleosho, RCD Espanyol (Spain); Cyle Larin, Besiktas (Turkey); Iké Ugbo, ES Troyes AC (France)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.