After the disqualification of Bennett, Ackermann celebrates victory on the Vuelta

German Pascal Ackermann won the flat ninth stage of the cycling Vuelta, although he was not enough for the favored Ira Sam Bennett in the finish. However, he acted illegally in the spurt, shortly after the finish he was disqualified and placed at the end of the main group in the order of the stage. Overall, Ecuadorian Richard Carapaz continues to lead with a lead of 13 seconds over Slovenian lawyer Primož Roglič.

Alvaro Barrientos, ČTK / AP

After almost 160 kilometers, Bennett was the first to cross the finish line, who eventually paid for the fact that he came into contact with the Latvian Emils Liepinš when entering the final spurt. The victory went to Ackermann, who celebrated his premiere triumph during his first start on the Vuelta. Belgian Gerben Thijssen jumped second and German Max Max Kanter third.

“I’m sorry about Sam, but we have to race fairer now,” Ackermann said. “It wasn’t fair of him. I think after all the collisions of the past weeks we have to take the others into account,” added the 26-year-old German.

Cyclists on the track of this year’s Vuelta.

Alvaro Barrientos, ČTK / AP

Bennett’s colleague from the Deceuninck-Quick Step stable Zdeněk Štybar finished in 44th place at the same time as the winner, the second Czech representative Jan Hirt lost almost two minutes to the main field.

On Friday, the program includes another flat stage from Castro Urdiales to Suances, which measures 185 kilometers.

Vuelta cycling race:
9. stage (Castrillo del Val – Aguilar de Campoo, 157.7 km):
1. Ackermann (Germany / Bora-hansgrohe) 3:39:55
2. Thijssen (Belg./Lotto-Soudal)
3. Kanter (German / Sunweb)
4. Philipsen (Belg./SAE Team Emirates)
5. Mareczko (It./CCC)
6. Renard (Fr./Israel Start-Up Nation)
7. Aberasturi (Šp. / Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)
8. Manzin (Fr./Total Direct Energie)
9. Stannard (Austr./Mitchelton-Scott)
10. Janse van Rensburg (JAR / NTT),
…44. Stybar (CZ / Deceuninck-Quick Step) all the same time,
149. Hirt (CR / CCC) -1: 50.
Running order:
1. Carapaz (Ekv./Ineos Grenadiers) 36:11:01
2. Roglič (Slovin./Jumbo-Visma) -13
3. Martin (Ir./Israel Start-Up Nation) -28
4. Carthy (Brit./EF Pro Cycling) -44
5. Mas (Šp./Movistar) -1: 54
6. Grossschartner (Rak./Bora-hansgrohe)
7. Chaves (Kol./Mitchelton-Scott) oba -3: 28
8. Valverde -3:35
9. Soler (both Sp. / Movistar) – 3:40
10. Poels (Niz./Bahrajn-McLaren) -3: 47,
…65. Hirt -1:08:24,
122. Stybar -1:45:48.


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.