32 Countries Close Doors on Africa, Ignore WHO Criticism

Jakarta, CNN Indonesia

World Health Organization (WHO) criticizes countries in the world that close their borders to immigrants from Africa because of appearance Covid-19 varian Omicron.

WHO Director for Africa, Matshidiso Moeti, assessed that border closures and travel bans had little impact in preventing the spread of the Omicron variant of Covid-19.

“But this makes life miserable,” Moeti said in a statement quoted by the Associated Press, Sunday (28/11).

Moeti later said, “If a ban is implemented, it should not be invasive or intrusive, and must be scientifically based, in accordance with International Health Regulations, which are part of international law recognized by 190 countries.”

Even so, the number of countries closing their borders from Africa is increasing. As of Tuesday (30/11), at least 36 countries have closed their doors to immigrants from Africa.

The following is a list of countries that have implemented this policy.


Despite being in central Africa, Angola also imposed travel restrictions with seven countries in southern Africa in an effort to prevent the spread of the Covid-19 variant of Omicron.

The seven countries include South Africa, Botswana, Lesoto, Eswatini, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania and Zimbabwe. The border closure will be in effect until January 5, 2022.

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia has suspended flights from the southern African country. Anyone with a travel history from the region is prohibited from entering the kingdom.

Meanwhile, Saudi citizens who have a travel history from the African country can still enter with the obligation to undergo a five-day quarantine upon arrival.


Australia banned flights from nine south African countries on Saturday, tightening its borders to prevent the entry of the new variant of Omicron Covid-19.

Non-Australians who visited South Africa, Zimbabwe and several other countries in the past two weeks will also be barred from entering Australia, Health Minister Greg Hunt said.

Nationals and residents traveling from the countries listed must be quarantined for 14 days. Each state has different quarantine rules.


Bahrain became one of the countries that banned the entry of tourists from South Africa on Friday (26/11). Apart from South Africa, several other countries banned by Bahrain are Malawi, Mozambique, Angola and Zambia.

Nevertheless, Bahraini citizens and persons holding Bahraini visas are still allowed to enter the country.


The Netherlands has banned flights from the south African country. Everyone who enters the Netherlands and has a travel history from Africa must undergo quarantine in a hotel that has been set by the government.

The Netherlands has detained two migrants who violated the quarantine rules.


Brazil also said it closed its borders to travelers arriving from six southern African countries.

The six countries are: South Africa, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe.

On Friday (11/26) local time, President Jair Bolsonaro’s chief of staff said these restrictions were to combat Covid-19, the newly identified Omicron or Botswana variant of the coronavirus.

“Brazil will close its air borders to six countries in Africa due to the variant of the new coronavirus,” Chief of Staff Ciro Nogueira wrote in a Twitter post.

“We will protect Brazilians in this new phase of the pandemic in the country. An official notification will be issued tomorrow and will take effect on Monday.”


Denmark has banned all of its citizens from traveling to Angola, Malawai, South Africa, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia. The government has also implemented a mandatory 10-day quarantine for anyone with a history of travel to these countries in the last 10 days.

Foreigners who have a travel history from Africa must have specific and essential reasons to be able to enter Denmark and undergo various health protocols such as PCR tests before leaving to quarantine.


The Philippines has banned flights from South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Mozambique until December 15.

Hong Kong

While China has not implemented drastic measures, Hong Kong has tightened travel restrictions by barring entry to foreigners who have visited from seven African countries over the past 21 days.

Meanwhile, Hong Kong residents who have a history of travel from Africa must also undergo seven days of quarantine at government facilities and 14 further days of quarantine at designated hotels.


Indonesia bans travelers with a travel history of the last 14 days in South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini and Nigeria. Every Indonesian citizen who has a travel history from these countries is still allowed to enter on condition that he undergoes a 14-day quarantine upon arrival.

Dozens of other countries closed their doors from Africa can be read on the next page >>>

England to Mauritius


– .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick