The five favorites to win the PFA Player of the Year Award

The second part of this extremely entertaining Premier League season will give a clearer picture of who will receive the most prestigious awards at the end of the season.

Of course, the biggest prize for English-class clubs is the Premier League crown, and it's safe to say that this trophy will end in either Anfield or Etihad in May.

However, there are still many individual awards, and the PFA Players Player of the Year award is undoubtedly the most prestigious of these gongs. It's great for any player to be enthusiastically received by fans and the media, but to be voted best by the other professionals is definitely the most rewarding prize for footballers.

For those of you who like a bit of online betting, we've put together a list of the five favorites to win this award.

Raheem Sterling 14/1

Embed Getty Images

The attacker from Manchester City dominated the headlines this season after rightly addressing some of the nefarious racial biases regularly committed by sections of the British media. Unfortunately, that has distracted many people from the wonderful 24-year season of the field.

English international Sterling consolidates his place as one of the most consistent strikers in the Premier League with nine goals and seven assists in 19 appearances for the reigning champions. Not bad for a player who can not cope.

Eden Hazard 14/1

Embed Getty Images

After Hazard shone at the Belgian World Championship this summer, Hazard started this season in electric form for Chelsea.

And while many fans and experts have swiftly pointed out that the shape of 28-year-old Mercury has eased somewhat in recent months, he is one of only two players in the major European leagues who have achieved double-digit gains in both areas and templates - the other player is a boy named Messi.

Mohamed Salah 8/1

Embed Getty Images

Salah won this award last season after breaking the record for most goals in a Premier League season with 38 games, scoring a sensational 32 goals for Liverpool.

Although many suggest that the Egyptian did not replicate his formidable form from the previous campaign, he is currently leading the ratings charts with 14 goals and is taking a more central role.

If Liverpool wants to maintain its current leadership position in the table and win the Premier League's first ever title, Salah's goals will undoubtedly play a huge role.

David Silva 8/1

Embed Getty Images

Spanish midfielder Silva would have been a neutral choice for many on account of his outstanding consistency in the top class since joining City in 2010. Merlin was named by his teammates because of his magic skills with the ball at his feet. The young man remains a key player in Pep Guardiola's star-obsessed midfielder.

Silva recently became Man City's top Premier League star and hopes his side will overtake current leader Liverpool to win their fourth league title.

Virgil Van Dijk 8/11

Embed Getty Images

Many eyebrows were raised last January when Liverpool Southampton paid a £ 75m defender for 27-year-old Van Dijk, a world record transfer fee. The Dutchman, however, since his arrival in Anfield nothing short of mastery and immediately solved the longtime problems of the Reds in the background.

There is no doubt that Van Dijk has established himself as one of the best center-backs in world football in the past 12 months. This is the main reason that Liverpool has conceded a miserable 10 goals in 22 games this season.

Van Dijk's outstanding performances for J├╝rgen Klopp's team make him the outstanding favorite for being named PFA Player of the Year, regardless of whether Liverpool will win the Premier League title this season.